Schools Liaison Group (JDP Primary Heads)

The Joint Development Planning primary heads group gives an opportunity for representative Headteachers to

  • be involved in the planning process for service delivery to schools
  • act as a "sounding board" for new initiatives and services
  • have a mechanism for improved communication between North Yorkshire schools and the local authority

Headteachers are chosen by fellow Heads to act as their representatives in the development planning process. They are chosen on an area basis and their role is to contribute to discussions on behalf of their sector of the service generally and of their part of the County as appropriate. They also act as an important communication link between the County planning process and all Heads. Heads are nominated representatives who may recommend action but are not empowered to commit schools to any course of action. 

Consultation and communication with colleagues is fundamental to the roles. Feedback to colleagues after meetings will be the norm, except where discussions require confidentiality in which case other Heads will be given information as soon as possible.

The JDP Primary Representative Heads produce an update following each meeting (see below). They also arrange the annual Primary Leadership Conference for Heads and senior leaders in the primary phase.

Four meetings of the Primary Representative Group are held with Local Authority officers. Meetings for the 2016/17 academic year are as follows:

  • 13 October 2016
  • 18 January 2017
  • 29 March 2017
  • 21 June 2017

The current membership of the JDP Primary Representative Headteachers Group is as follows:



Sarah Beveridge (Leyburn CP)

Swaledale, Catterick, Wensleydale


Stokesley & Rural, Bedale & Rural, Northallerton & Rural

Matt Shillito (Goldsborough CE)

Boroughbridge, Knaresborough

Ian Yapp (Tadcaster, Riverside CP) (Group Spokesperson)

Selby, Sherburn & Tadcaster

Denise Crosier (Filey CE Infant School)

Filey, Scarborough

Roy Gunning (Stakesby CP School)

Whitby & Rural

Fiona Beetles (Sutton in Craven CP)

Mid Craven, North Craven, South Craven

Stuart Anslow (Water Street CP School, Skipton)

Mid Craven, North Craven, South Craven

Sally Cowling (Bishop Monkton CE Primary)

Ripon & Rural

Jane Turner (Harrogate Pannal CP)

Harrogate & Rural


Central Ryedale, North Ryedale


Easingwold & Rural, Thirsk & Rural

Useful Downloads

JDP Update - September 2017

JDP Update - June 2017

JDP Update - March 2017

JDP Update - February 2017

JDP Update - October 2016


Headteacher Hub

Information and booking details for JDP Annual Leadership Conference Friday 4th May 2018  and in PDF